Workers Union

Lisa Moore pic by Tim Moore stromlo14.jpg


Pianist and narrator Lisa Moore collaborates with virtuosi ANAM talent in a dramatic ensemble program featuring radical landmark works from 1970s counter-culture.

Composed by two bold figures, American Frederic Rzewski’s Coming Together and Dutch Louis Andriessen’s Worker’s Union are written for any group of instruments. They pack an incessant, rhythmic, driving punch, pushing limits and bucking established chamber music traditions.

Coming Together delivers a letter written by an Attica Correctional Facility inmate Sam Melville, who was murdered in prison riots. It speaks of a renewed revolutionary optimism: ‘I think the combination of age and a greater coming together is responsible for the passing of time’. Workers Union requires the musicians to play loud and together in unison rhythm, yet individually choosing any pitch, finally building and exploding into a roudy ‘national anthem’. Andriessen’s poem Langzame Verjardaag (slow birthday) in it’s Australian premiere, meets these giants in the middle – sweetly serenading throughout. Fasten your seatbelts and immerse yourself in these revolutionary classics.

Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre


Lisa Moore piano/director/narrator
ANAM musicians


Frederic Rzewski (b.1938)
Coming Together (1971)

Louis Andriessen (b.1939)
Langzame Verjardaag (2009)
Workers Union (1975)