Cancelled: An Enchanted Evening

Nexus Quartet


Concert Cancellation Notification

We regret to advise An Enchanted Evening on Monday 7 December has been cancelled.

Melbourne Recital Centre cares deeply about the health and safety of its audiences, artists and staff. We acknowledge that the suspension of normal operations in response to the Coronavirus (COVID-19) is a difficult but essential action for the health of the Victorian public. We are committed to supporting our staff during this time and difficult circumstances. We thank our community for its support during this challenging time.

All ticket holders are entitled to a full refund via their original point of purchase. We are currently in the process of arranging refunds.

If you have any questions or concerns about this concert cancellation please contact our Ticketing Services team at

Event details

Since their formation in 2002, the saxophone group Nexas Quartet has premiered countless new Australian works and collaborated with the finest musicians while focusing on promoting the musical diversity of the saxophone.

Nexas join forces with the exuberant harpist Emily Granger to enchant you with the delights this unusual combination of instruments can deliver. Featuring adaptions of works by Debussy and Ravel the performance showcases the lush tonal palette created between harp and saxophone. The program also includes the Australian premiere of Russel Howard’s work for saxophone quartet and harp, as well as the world premiere of Wijand van Klaveren’s new work for this combination of instruments.

Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre and Nexas Quartet with Emily Granger


Maurice Ravel
Introduction and Allegro

Russel Howland
Saxophone Quartet No.6 with Harp

Wijnand van Klaveren
New Work 2019

Claude Debussy
Danse Sacrée et Danse Profane


Michael Duke soprano saxophone
Andrew Smith alto saxophone
Nathan Henshaw tenor saxophone
Jay Byrnes baritone saxophone
Emily Granger harp


This production is part of the following series: