Cancelled: Armenian and Russian Themes

Duo Chamber Melange 2019.JPG


Concert Cancellation Notification

We regret to advise Armenian and Russian Themes on Thursday 3 December has been cancelled.

Melbourne Recital Centre cares deeply about the health and safety of its audiences, artists and staff. We acknowledge that the suspension of normal operations in response to the Coronavirus (COVID-19) is a difficult but essential action for the health of the Victorian public. We are committed to supporting our staff during this time and difficult circumstances. We thank our community for its support during this challenging time.

All ticket holders are entitled to a full refund via their original point of purchase. We are currently in the process of arranging refunds.

If you have any questions or concerns about this concert cancellation please contact our Ticketing Services team at

Event details

Duo Chamber Melange is an organic partnership between internationally acclaimed musicians Ivana Tomásková (violin) and Tamara Smolyar (piano). The Duo’s versatile repertoire embraces classical and contemporary music with recent world premieres of renowned Australian, American and European composers.

Duo Chamber Melange showcases the true art of music making. Its engaging performance style is an ideal match for the impassioned music of Russia and Armenia. Full of contrasts and rhythmic drive, this music brings emotions that cannot be put into words to the surface. At the concert’s heart is the Australian premiere of American-Russian composer Alla Pavlova’s work for the victims of the Armenian Holocaust. Together with classical Armenian masterpieces and Igor Stravinsky’s lyrical Duo Concertante, this concert offers tremendous expression and musical depth.

Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre & Duo Chamber Melange


Duo Chamber Melange
Ivana Tomásková violin
Tamara Smolyar piano


Alla Pavlova
Tsavd Tanem for violin and piano

Karen Khachaturian
Sonata for violin and piano, Op.1

Alexander Arutiunian & Arno Babajanyan
Armenian Rhapsody (world premiere arrangement by Tony Toppi)

Igor Stravinsky
Duo Concertant for violin and piano