Cancelled: Beethoven's Vienna

Seraphim Trio.JPG


Concert Cancellation Notification

We regret to advise Beethoven’s Vienna on Wednesday 29 April has been cancelled.

Melbourne Recital Centre cares deeply about the health and safety of its audiences, artists and staff. We acknowledge that the suspension of normal operations in response to the Coronavirus (COVID-19) is a difficult but essential action for the health of the Victorian public. We are committed to supporting our staff during this time and difficult circumstances. We thank our community for its support during this challenging time.

All ticket holders are entitled to a full refund via their original point of purchase. We are currently in the process of arranging refunds.

If you have any questions or concerns about this concert cancellation please contact our Ticketing Services team at

Event details

Over the last two decades, Helen Ayres, Anna Goldsworthy and Tim Nankervis have remained steadfastly committed to chamber music – from building the contemporary repertoire to developing new audiences and teaching the next generation of performers.

Inspiring others through intelligent programming and a deep knowledge and love of chamber music, Seraphim Trio never fails to delight audiences.

The brilliance of Beethoven is immediately recognisable in the ‘Archduke’ Trio, the last and most enduring of his works for this genre. Perhaps the most beloved of all trios, the ‘Archduke’ is at once symphony, opera and chamber conversation of the most intimate proportions. In contrast, Beethoven’s ‘Kakadu’ Variations display the simplicity of an earlier style combined with more complex revisions made later in life. Mozart’s trio in E major, K.542, glows with the freedom of invention, from the concertante writing for keyboard to the new-age virtuosity of the supporting string lines.

Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre & Seraphim Trio


Ludwig van Beethoven
Ten Variations on ‘Ich bin der Schneider Kakadu’, Op.121a

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Piano Trio No.4 in E, K 542

Ludwig van Beethoven
Piano Trio No.7 in B flat, Op.97 ‘Archduke’


Seraphim Trio
Helen Ayres violin
Timothy Nankervis cello
Anna Goldsworthy piano


This production is part of the following series: