Aura Go & Timo-Veikko Valve

Postponed: Beethoven - The Complete Cello Sonatas Concert 1

Aura Go and Timo.jpg


We regret to advise that Aura Go and Timo-Veikko Valve’s concerts on Saturday 18 July have been postponed.

Melbourne Recital Centre cares deeply about the health and safety of its audiences, artists and staff. We acknowledge that the suspension of normal operations in response to Coronavirus (COVID-19) is a difficult but essential action for the health of the Victorian public. We are committed to supporting our staff and artists during these difficult circumstances. We thank our community for its support during this challenging time.

We hope to reschedule the concert and update ticket-holders with information about the rescheduled concert in the near future. Ticket-holders can either retain their current ticket for the rescheduled concert, or receive a refund through their original point of purchase.

About this concert

Experiencing the cycle in one day gives us an especially intimate conversation with Beethoven, meeting him at various times across his life.

There is a special alchemy between the instruments in these works, the piano and cello completely equal, fully evolved partners.

‘A journey through this cycle is like time travel. These works are a cornerstone of my artistic identity.’ Timo-Veikko Valve

‘When it comes to Beethoven, pianists are exceptionally lucky. Beethoven turned to the piano more often than any other instrument, leaving us with a body of work that expresses the struggle, suffering, and despair of the human condition, right alongside the joy and humour – ultimately the unvanqishable human spirit.’ Aura Go

Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre


Timo-Veikko Valve cello
Aura Go piano


Ludwig van Beethoven
Cello Sonata No.1 in F, Op.5 No.1
Cello Sonata No.4 in C, Op.102 No.1
Cello Sonata No.3 in A, Op.69


This production is part of the following series:

Beethoven 250

To mark the 250th anniversary of Beethoven’s birth, Melbourne Recital Centre presents one of the largest explorations of the great master’s music.