Cancelled: Chopin, Kerry and Clara

Omega Ensemble


Concert Cancellation Notification

We regret to advise Chopin, Kerry and Clara on Thursday 18 June has been cancelled.

Melbourne Recital Centre cares deeply about the health and safety of its audiences, artists and staff. We acknowledge that the suspension of normal operations in response to the Coronavirus (COVID-19) is a difficult but essential action for the health of the Victorian public. We are committed to supporting our staff during this time and difficult circumstances. We thank our community for its support during this challenging time.

All ticket holders are entitled to a full refund via their original point of purchase. We are currently in the process of arranging refunds.

If you have any questions or concerns about this concert cancellation please contact our Ticketing Services team at

Event details

‘Chamber music all-stars’ Omega Ensemble bring their sellout Sydney Opera House Master Series to Melbourne in this inaugural concert series. The supreme pianist-composer, Chopin was in fact not the showman performer his virtuosic music would suggest, instead preferring local salons to the grand concert halls of Paris. With Chopin at the piano, the composer’s larger works, including his two piano concertos, were performed far more frequently in private with small ensembles than in public with large orchestras.

Chopin’s breathtaking first concerto is presented here in a beautiful arrangement for piano and string quintet that captures all the romance of the original.

This fiery work is accompanied by Clara Schumann’s emotional Piano Trio, considered by many to be her most challenging work, and the world premiere of a new Clarinet Quintet by award-winning Australian composer Gordon Kerry written for Artistic Director and Clarinetist David Rowden.

Presented by Omega Ensemble


Frédéric Chopin
Piano Concerto No.1 (for Piano and String Quintet)

Clara Schumann
Piano Trio in G minor, Op.17

Gordon Kerry
Clarinet Quintet (World Premiere)


This production is part of the following series: