From Peking Opera to Don Giovanni

Yiyun Gu.jpg


Virtuoso pianist Yiyun Gu plays music by Liszt, Goossens and young female Chinese composer Wang A Mao.

Based on themes from Mozart’s opera Don Giovanni, Liszt’s dramatic fantasy Réminiscences de Don Juan demands technical brilliance, as one of the most difficult pieces in the piano repertoire. In Goossens we rediscover the mysterious incidental music written for Maugham’s 1920s play East of Suez. Based on a story set in Beijing, it delves into the intersection of cultural traditions. Sheng, Dan, Jing, Mo, Chou by young Chinese composer Wang A Mao takes inspiration from the five traditional roles in Peking Opera (Beijing Opera), the quintessence of Chinese theatre. Through the powers of solo piano, this work brings the famous characters to life (male/female, old/young, hero/clown) – conjuring the colourful costumes, painted faces, movements, gestures, background music and voices. Drawn together under the theme of music for the stage, these inspired works are full of excitement, highlighting contrasting musical languages, from East to West, from traditional to contemporary.

Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre & Yiyun Gu


Yiyun Gu piano


Eugene Goossens
Suite from ‘East of Suez’, Op.33

Wang A Mao
Sheng, Dan, Jing, Mo, Chou

Franz Liszt
Réminiscences de Don Juan, S.418