Cancelled: Mesmerism

Ensemble Offspring.JPG


Concert Cancellation Notification

We regret to advise Ensemble Offspring: Mesmerism on Friday 28 August has been cancelled.

Melbourne Recital Centre cares deeply about the health and safety of its audiences, artists and staff. We acknowledge that the suspension of normal operations in response to the Coronavirus (COVID-19) is a difficult but essential action for the health of the Victorian public. We are committed to supporting our staff during this time and difficult circumstances. We thank our community for its support during this challenging time.

All ticket holders are entitled to a full refund via their original point of purchase. We are currently in the process of arranging refunds.

If you have any questions or concerns about this concert cancellation please contact our Ticketing Services team at

Event details

Ensemble Offspring brings its funky quartet line-up of piano, percussion, flute and clarinet to the Primrose Potter Salon to celebrate its 25th birthday.

An intimate and eclectic program featuring the quartet of Claire Edwardes (percussion/artistic director), Zubin Kanga (piano), Lamorna Nightingale (flutes) and Jason Noble (clarinets), Mesmerism features five works all written for and with a great deal of input from the group.

Ensemble Offspring will present a new arrangement of local hero Melody Eötvös’s duo celebrating the tiny water bear, the Tardigradus, for flute and vibraphone. Scottish composer Matthew Whiteside wrote Rama for Ensemble Offspring’s 2019 European Tour where they performed the work in pubs around Scotland and Ireland along with many of the works on this program. Andrea Keller’s Love in Solitude was written for the group in 2016 as a result of winning the Merlyn Myer Commission and combines manipulated samples of the performers on stage with poignant text from Rainer Maria Rilke and Jessica Wells arrangement of Paul Mac’s 2019 electronica release Mesmerism is something to behold live.

Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre


Claire Edwardes (percussion)
Jason Noble (clarinet)
Lamorna Nightingale (flute)
Zubin Kanga (piano/keyboard)


Jessica Wells
New Work (2020)

Melody Eötvös
Tardigradus (2017/2019)

Matthew Whiteside
Rama (2019)

Paul Mac
Mesmerism (2019)

Andrea Keller
Love in Solitude (2016)