Cancelled: Flinders Quartet - Montsalvat Concert 2


This event takes place at Montsalvat


Concert Cancellation Notification

Flinders Quartet regrets to advise that this concert has been cancelled.

Melbourne Recital Centre cares deeply about the health and safety of its audiences, artists and staff. We acknowledge that the suspension of normal operations in response to the Coronavirus (COVID-19) is a difficult but essential action for the health of the Victorian public. We are committed to supporting our staff during this time and difficult circumstances. We thank our community for its support during this challenging time.

All ticket holders are entitled to a full refund via their original point of purchase. We are currently in the process of arranging refunds.

If you have any questions or concerns about this concert cancellation please contact our Ticketing Services team at

Event details

Puccini, Beethoven and the premiere of a new work by Deborah Cheetham AO. Deborah Cheetham AO is well known and much-loved as a composer and performer (even more so following the monumental achievement of ‘Eumeralla’ in 2019), but in this concert, Flinders Quartet present Cheetham’s new work for string quartet alongside Beethoven’s Op.131 as a pairing of great minds and visionaries. Both Cheetham and Beethoven have an innate sense of scale, humanity and the historical significance that art can present. Flinders Quartet could not resist programming Puccini’s ‘Crisantemi’ as an homage to Cheetham’s operatic prowess.

‘The intimacy of the string quartet is like no other relationship in music. Whether in agreement or furious debate, the potential for elevated understanding is advanced once the conversation begins. I am looking forward to my collaboration with the exceptionally gifted members of the Flinders Quartet.’ Yorta Yorta composer, Deborah Cheetham AO

Presented by Flinders Quartet


Thibaud Pavlovic-Hobba violin
Wilma Smith violin
Helen Ireland viola
Zoe Knighton cello



New Work*

String Quartet No.14 in C sharp minor, Op.131

*World premiere, commissioned by Flinders Quartet with support from Andrew Dixon, in memory of Jean & John Dixon


This production is part of the following series: