Arcadia Winds.JPG


Arcadia Winds is a trailblazer in Australian wind music.

It has brought its brand of energetic, joyful and spontaneous performance to concert stages around the world and revelled in musical partnerships with internationally acclaimed performers. A desire to celebrate and promote Australian music has led Arcadia Winds to commission, record and perform works by dozens of Australian composers.

Arcadia Winds explores ground-breaking music for wind quintet. Carl Nielsen’s seminal quintet anchors the program. Nielsen was one of the very first composers to consider the different personalities and combined potential of the wind instruments and their players – the result is a masterpiece of such scope and emotional weight that it has arguably never been bettered. Luciano Berio’s Opus Number Zoo takes a very different approach to the same ensemble, combining charming, playful portraits of animals with serious, ironic undertones. In Erkki-Sven Tüür’s Architectonics, we discover an equally radical departure: a piece of modern, highly-structured musical craftsmanship. A new work from renowned Australian composer Gerard Brophy brings us full circle in a stunning tour of the sounds of wind quintet.

Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre and Arcadia Winds


Kiran Phatak flute
David Reichelt oboe
Lloyd Van’t Hoff clarinet
Rachel Shaw horn
Matthew Kneale bassoon


Erkki-Sven Tüür

Luciano Berio
Opus Number Zoo

Gerard Brophy
New Work for wind quintet 2019

Carl Nielsen
Wind Quintet, Op.43


This production is part of the following series:

Local Heroes 2020

Now in its ninth year, Melbourne Recital Centre’s Local Heroes series brings together Melbourne’s best artists in a year-long festival of chamber music.