Two of Melbourne’s most vibrant chamber music ensembles, Rubiks Collective and Ossicle Duo, unite to explore the logic behind human action.

Donnacha Dennehy’s Mild, Medium-Lasting, Artificial Happiness veers between whimsical and sarcastic unisons, Panayiotis Kokoras’s Study on Phonetics juxtaposes metallic jolts and whispered bowings, and two percussionists examine a tinkling pallet of delicate glass objects in Annie Hsieh’s Quietude.

The concert culminates in the world premiere of a new work for the virtuosic forces of these combined ensembles by rising Australian composer Jakob Bragg, recipient of the 2020 University of Melbourne Commission Award.

Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre and Rubiks Collective and Ossicle Duo


Ossicle Duo

Hamish Upton percussion
Benjamin Anderson trombone

Rubiks Collective

Tamara Kohler flutes
Gemma Kneale cello
Jacob Abela keyboards
Kaylie Melville percussion


Kevin Juillerat
Study on Phonetics

Donnacha Dennehy
Mild, Medium-Lasting, Artificial Happiness

Annie Hui-Hsin Hsieh

Panayiotis Kokoras

Jakob Bragg
New work


This production is part of the following series:

Local Heroes 2020

Now in its ninth year, Melbourne Recital Centre’s Local Heroes series brings together Melbourne’s best artists in a year-long festival of chamber music.

Try Something Different

From contemporary classical music to cross-cultural collaborations, experience boundary-breaking and genre-defying music.