Cancelled: Quartz & Kenji



Concert Cancellation Notification

We regret to advise Quartz on Tuesday 22 September has been cancelled.

Melbourne Recital Centre cares deeply about the health and safety of its audiences, artists and staff. We acknowledge that the suspension of normal operations in response to the Coronavirus (COVID-19) is a difficult but essential action for the health of the Victorian public. We are committed to supporting our staff during this time and difficult circumstances. We thank our community for its support during this challenging time.

All ticket holders are entitled to a full refund via their original point of purchase. We are currently in the process of arranging refunds.

If you have any questions or concerns about this concert cancellation please contact our Ticketing Services team at

Event details

Acclaimed Melbourne string quartet Quartz unites violinists Kathryn Taylor and Philippa West, violist Merewyn Bramble and cellist Zoe Wallace in refreshing concerts of classical and contemporary repertoire.

Frequently collaborating with sought-after artists such as pianist Caroline Almonte and soprano Sally-Anne Russell, Quartz’s vibrant, innovative and unique programs are a confluence of Australian musical talent and world-class technique.

Be immersed in a kaleidoscope of colours created by two great impressionists, Claude Debussy and Gabriel Fauré. Debussy’s String Quartet in G minor is one of the most beloved in the repertoire, filled with sensual beauty and a variety of textures. In Gabriel Fauré’s shimmering Piano Quintet No.1, Quartz is joined by inimitable pianist Kenji Fujimura. Dedicated to Eugène Ysaÿe, this is a work that took Fauré almost two decades to write and yet has a deceptive air of spontaneity. Filled with lyrical string lines and a crystalline piano part, Fauré’s dream world is an exquisite gem.

Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre and Quartz


Kathryn Taylor violin
Philippa West violin
Merewyn Bramble viola
Zoe Wallace cello
Kenji Fujimura piano


Claude Debussy
String Quartet in G minor, Op.10

Gabriel Fauré
Piano Quintet No.1 in D minor, Op.89