Cancelled: Requiems

Debussy_String_Quartet_cBernard_Benant_P21 (1).jpg

Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre


Concert Cancellation Notification

We regret to advise Debussy String Quartet on Thursday 12 November has been cancelled.

Melbourne Recital Centre cares deeply about the health and safety of its audiences, artists and staff. We acknowledge that the suspension of normal operations in response to the Coronavirus (COVID-19) is a difficult but essential action for the health of the Victorian public. We are committed to supporting our staff during this time and difficult circumstances. We thank our community for its support during this challenging time.

All ticket holders are entitled to a full refund via their original point of purchase. We are currently in the process of arranging refunds.

If you have any questions or concerns about this concert cancellation please contact our Ticketing Services team at

Event details

‘The splendid Debussy Quartet [… is] one of the hardest-working string quartets on the concert circuit.’ Limelight magazine

Debussy Quartet has forged a sound and a style that sets it apart. Organic and adventurous, its concerts and recordings are renowned for their passion, elegance and detail. Having met as students 27 years ago in Lyons, France, one gets to experience with the Debussy’s the kind of warmth and authenticity that can only come from decades of performing together, delighting audiences all around the world.

The Quartet leaves its unique mark on rarely heard works such as Lichtenthal’s 1802 transcription of Mozart’s monumental Requiem in D minor. In classical favourites such as Shostakovich’s String Quartet No.8, the Quartet’s outstanding dedication captures the tragic beauty of the work in sublime detail.

About the Program

Debussy String Quartet performs works by Lekeu, Mozart and Shostakovitch. See the PROGRAM tab for more information.

Thanks to our partners

Great Chamber Ensembles 2020 series supported by Uniting AgeWell.



Debussy String Quartet
Christophe Collette violin
Marc Vieillefon violin
Vincent Deprecq viola
Cédric Conchon cello


Guillaume Lekeu
Molto Adagio

Dmitri Shostakovitch
String Quartet No.8 in C minor, Op.110

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Requiem Mass in D minor, K.626


Join us for a pre-concert talk in Elisabeth Murdoch Hall from 6.45pm.