Romantic Serenades

Romantic Serenades


MCO brings to life the virtuosity of Romantic string writing with a trio of brilliant Czech composers and a mighty violin concerto.

Dvořák’s Serenade is a beloved showpiece, with the attention to detail of the composer’s renowned quartets and the drama of his symphonies. Compatriots Janáček and Suk complete the picture with evocative works full of lush harmonies and folk-inspired inflections.

Glazunov was a Russian contemporary of Dvořák and his Violin Concerto is a staple of the virtuoso violinist’s repertoire. Ukrainian-Australian virtuoso Markiyan Melnychenko performs the show-stopping solo with MCO in a new arrangement for string orchestra.

Presented by Melbourne Chamber Orchestra


Leoš Janáček
Suite for String Orchestra JW VI/2

Alexander Glazunov
Violin Concerto in A minor Op.82 (arr string orchestra Keith Crellin)

Josef Suk
Meditation on the Chorale ‘Saint Wenceslas’ Op.35a

Antonín Dvořák
Serenade for Strings Op.22


William Hennessy director
Markiyan Melnychenko violin
Melbourne Chamber Orchestra


This production is part of the following series: