Russian Romantics

Russian Romantics


Closing the 2020 Season, the Omega Wind Quartet are joined by award-winning pianist Clemens Leske for two Russian masterworks for piano and winds, full of romantic colour and bravura.

A rare example of Rimsky-Korsakov’s departure from orchestral writing, the attention grabbing Quintet for Winds and Piano embodies the powerful, rhythmic sound of the composer’s larger works. This impressive work is accompanied by Anton Rubinstein’s work of the same name, including virtuosic piano writing that exemplifies why Rubinstein was considered one of the world’s greatest pianists in his day.

Presented by Omega Ensemble


Anton Rubinstein
Quintet for Piano and Winds in F

Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov
Quintet for Piano and Winds in B-flat


Clemens Leske piano
Sally Walker flute
David Rowden clarinet
Michael Dixon horn
Matthew Kneale bassoon


This production is part of the following series: