The Quintets of Mozart and Beethoven



Pianist Kristian Chong is one of Australia’s most sought-after musicians.

Partnering with his friends, who are some of the best international and Australian music stars, Kristian’s concerts have become treasured occasions to hear chamber music masterpieces performed by artists at the heights of their careers.

Two incredible works for piano and winds star in this wonderful program featuring some of Australia’s best chamber musicians. In fact, Mozart himself wrote enthusiastically to his father of his Quintet, K452: ‘‘I myself consider it to be the best work I have ever composed!’ Beethoven was clearly impressed with it too, composing a similar work a dozen years later.

Celebrated pianist Kristian Chong is joined by oboist Shefali Pryor and superstar French horn player Ben Jacks from Sydney Symphony Orchestra, and Melbourne Symphony Orchestra’s wonderful bassoonist Jack Schiller and brilliant clarinettist Philip Arkinstall for these lyrical, elegant and enthralling works.

Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre and Kristian Chong and Friends


Shefali Pryor oboe
Philip Arkinstall clarinet
Jack Schiller bassoon
Ben Jacks French horn
Kristian Chong piano


Ludwig van Beethoven
Quintet for Piano and Winds in E-flat, Op.16

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Quintet for Piano and Winds K452


This production is part of the following series:

Local Heroes 2020

Now in its ninth year, Melbourne Recital Centre’s Local Heroes series brings together Melbourne’s best artists in a year-long festival of chamber music.

Beethoven 250

To mark the 250th anniversary of Beethoven’s birth, Melbourne Recital Centre presents one of the largest explorations of the great master’s music.