Cancelled: The University of Melbourne Symphony Orchestra

University of Melbourne.jpg


Concert Cancellation Notification

We regret to advise that The University of Melbourne Symphony Orchestra concert on Sunday 5 April has been cancelled.

Melbourne Recital Centre cares deeply about the health and safety of its audiences, artists and staff. We acknowledge that the suspension of normal operations in response to COVID-19 is a difficult but essential action for the health of the Victorian public. We are committed to supporting our staff during this time and difficult circumstances. We thank our community for its support during this challenging time.

All ticket holders are entitled to a full refund via their original point of purchase. If you paid via EFTPOS or cash over the counter the Box Office team will be in touch to assist you in receiving your refund. If you purchased online or over the phone, we are in the process of returning your tickets and crediting your card. This will be done automatically, you don’t need to contact us to obtain your refund. We are working through this process as quickly as possible and we thank you for your patience.

If you have any questions or concerns about this concert cancellation please contact our Ticketing Services team at

Event details

The University’s first orchestral concert of 2020 is an all-Russian program, opening with Rimsky-Korsakov’s dazzling Capriccio Espagnol. This short piece, containing folk music from around Spain, features a cascade of cadenzas, requires the strings to imitate Spanish guitars, and ends with a frenzied fandango.

Stravinsky’s ballet, Pulcinella, marks the beginning of the composer’s neo-classical period. Stravinsky famously stated that ‘talented composers borrow music [whereas], geniuses steal!’ In this retelling of the story of ‘The Four Identical Pulcinellas’, Stravinsky takes previously written music (by the 17th century composer Pergolesi) and layers them in an extraordinary way (changing a few keys but no notes) to make the music seem, simultaneously, old and new. The story centres around Pulcinella, who always wears a mask. Because of this, he makes himself prone to identity-theft from several jealous villagers who, one-by-one, impersonate him. There is musical humour and charm throughout and virtuosic solos from all sections. Stravinsky, after the first performance, stated that ‘_Pulcinella_ was Pergolesi’s best work!’

The concert ends with Tchaikovsky’s beloved Symphony No.5. Although it was fiercely criticised in its day – even by the composer (who considered it crude and an utter failure) – it is now considered a masterpiece. The University of Melbourne Symphony Orchestra, led by world-renowned conductor Associate Professor Richard Davis and featuring its very best student classical musicians, is the premier large performance ensemble at the University.

The University of Melbourne Symphony Orchestra is supported by The Sidney Myer and MSO Trust.

Presented by the Melbourne Conservatorium of Music


Capriccio Espagnole

Pulcinella Suite

Symphony No. 5


The University of Melbourne Symphony Orchestra
Richard Davis conductor