Cancelled: Vivaldi's Four Seasons

The Four Seasons


Concert Cancellation Notification

We regret to advise Vivaldi’s Four Seasons on Thursday 30 July and Sunday 2 August has been cancelled.

Melbourne Recital Centre cares deeply about the health and safety of its audiences, artists and staff. We acknowledge that the suspension of normal operations in response to the Coronavirus (COVID-19) is a difficult but essential action for the health of the Victorian public. We are committed to supporting our staff during this time and difficult circumstances. We thank our community for its support during this challenging time.

All ticket holders are entitled to a full refund via their original point of purchase. We are currently in the process of arranging refunds.

If you have any questions or concerns about this concert cancellation please contact our Ticketing Services team at

Event details

Vivaldi would be totally astonished by the fame of his Four Seasons today.

As a priest working in an orphanage, the majority of his music was heard by only a relatively small circle of people in Venice, and almost all of it was forgotten, lost or disregarded for nearly two centuries after his death.

The Four Seasons is not just well-known: it’s one of the most exciting, colourful and innovative works from the Baroque era. Each concerto is accompanied by a sonnet, and the hallmarks of each Italian season, from birdsong in Spring to pesky flies in Summer, are imagined in amazingly vivid musical form.

Written more than 200 years after Vivaldi, Ottorino Respighi’s quartet (opulently arranged for string orchestra) evokes a different, romantic image of Italy—picturesque town squares, languorous sunny days by Lake Como, young love and good living.

Presented by Melbourne Chamber Orchestra


Antonio Vivaldi
Concerto in F RV141

Ottorino Respighi
Quartet in D P53 (arr. string orchestra)

Antonio Vivaldi
The Four Seasons


Katherine Lukey violin
Jennen Ngiau-Keng violin
William Hennessy violin
Markiyan Melnychenko violin
Melbourne Chamber Orchestra


This production is part of the following series: