ASQ in Concert with Genevieve Lacey

ASQ 2021.jpg

Presented by Australian String Quartet


Celebrated Australian composer, Elena Kats-Chernin, wrote Re-Inventions for Genevieve Lacey and string quartet in 2004.

Infused with the spirit of Bach’s keyboard inventions and employing multiple instruments, these three movements illustrate an array of colours, from playful to dark and sombre, to simply virtuosic.

Lachlan Skipworth’s new work for bass recorder and string quartet is inspired by the breathtaking cave systems of Western Australia’s Margaret River region. With the inclusion of a backdrop of digital sound, the bass recorder in the beautiful key of G flat becomes the melodic focus in this hauntingly restrained work.

Mendelssohn wrote the Op.12 string quartet before his twentieth birthday. His young, opera-addicted mind dials up the drama and beauty of this piece, while the popular Canzonetta movement exemplifies the cheeky Puck-like passagework associated with his Octet, and music from A Midsummer Night’s Dream.

Moravian violinist and composer Pavel Fischer was inspired by the courage of Scottish piper Bill Millin who on D-Day 1944, marched on Normandy beach, rallying the troops with his bagpipes. This exhilarating quartet seamlessly blends traditions of folk music and western art, creating an explosive and exhilarating end to this program.

COVID Safety

Melbourne Recital Centre is committed to the safety of our artists, staff and patrons. As we reopen, a range of public health, hygiene and physical distancing measures will be in place. Click here to learn more.


Elena Kats-Chernin
Re-Inventions (excerpts)

Felix Mendelssohn
String Quartet No.1 in E flat, Op.12

Lachlan Skipworth
Quintet for Bass Recorder and Strings (World Premiere)

Pavel Fischer
String Quartet No.3 Mad Piper


Australian String Quartet
Genevieve Lacey