J.S. Bach - Music for Celebration

Music for Celebration.jpg


‘Our time on this earth is sacred, and we should celebrate every moment.’ Paulo Coelho

About this concert

Celebrating Johann Sebastian Bach’s birthday (b. 31 March 1685), Bach’s Musicians directed by Rachael Beesley explores his joyous repertoire for strings combined with imaginative works by fellow Baroque composers. Bach’s Suite No.3 welcomes us to the party with its fittingly grand opening and sprightly violin section. Violins also shine and swagger in the spotlight in Bach’s buoyant and zealous Concertos. The rich sounds of the Baroque continue to ring out in music by Bach’s contemporaries, with Biber’s Sonatas and Muffat’s magnificent Passacaglia in G.

Bach would have blown out 336 candles on his birthday cake this year, and yet his music is so inventive that it could have been composed just yesterday. This concert is a triumphant salute to his ever-dazzling virtuosity.

Can’t make it to the concert? Watch the live stream!

Stream this concert FREE online in real time here

COVID Safety

Melbourne Recital Centre is committed to the safety of our artists, staff and patrons. When we reopen, a range of public health, hygiene and physical distancing measures will be in place. Click here to learn more.


Rachael Beesley director/violin

Bach’s Musicians
Zoë Black violin
Peter Clark violin
Jessica Oddie violin
Anna McMichael violin
Cameron Jamieson violin
Simon Oswell viola
Katie Yap viola
Josephine Vains cello
Robert Nairn violone
Donald Nicolson harpsichord/organ


Romanus Weichlein
Canon über das Post-Hörnl

J.S. Bach
Orchestral Suite No.3 in D, BWV 1068
1. Ouverture

Heinrich Ignaz Franz von Biber
Sonatae tam aris quam aulis servientes
Sonata VIII a Cinque in G

J.S. Bach
Concerto for Two Violins in D minor, BWV 1043

Heinrich Ignaz Franz von Biber
Sonatae tam aris quam aulis servientes
Sonata VI a Cinque in F

J.S. Bach
Concerto for Three Violins in D, BWV 1064R

Georg Muffat
String Sonata No.5 in G from Armonico tribute
5. Passacaglia