Bach's Universe

Bachs Universe - SeasonArtwork.jpg

Presented by Australian Brandenburg Orchestra


Concert Cancellation Notification: Bach’s Universe

Due to New South Wales border closures, Australian Brandenburg Orchestra regrets to advise that the Bach’s Universe concerts on 15, 17 and 18 July have been cancelled.

Melbourne Recital Centre cares deeply about the health and safety of its audiences, artists and staff. We acknowledge that the suspension of normal operations in response to Coronavirus (COVID-19) is a difficult but essential action for the health of the Victorian public. We are committed to supporting our staff and artists during these difficult circumstances and we thank you, our music-loving community for your support and understanding during this time.

Ticket holders are entitled to a full refund via their original point of purchase. You do not need to contact us, all refunds will be processed automatically. If you have any questions or concerns about this concert cancellation, please contact our Ticketing Services team a

About this concert

A performance of JS Bach’s music is an individual journey into an inner universe of mystery and magnificence. Constellations of chords rush to become vast galaxies of sound surging with Bach’s eternal creative energy. Each work is an infinite cosmic expanse to explore.

In this concert, single musicians will arrive one by one onto a darkened stage beneath a brilliant column of light to offer an intimate vision of Bach’s celestial instrumental works. The stage will gradually become illuminated with musicians joining in Paul Dyer’s all-Bach pasticcio.

In his Australian debut, radiant German Baroque violinist Jonas Zschenderlein will lead the orchestra in an incandescent performance of Bach’s Violin Concerto in E major. This all-Bach concert culminates with Jonas guest-directing the genius composer’s enveloping Orchestral Suite No. 3 in D major in a period instrument performance which must not be missed.

COVID Safety

Melbourne Recital Centre is committed to the safety of our artists, staff and patrons. As we reopen, a range of public health, hygiene and physical distancing measures will be in place. Click here to learn more.


J.S. Bach
A theatrical pasticcio drawn from Bach’s masterful writing for solo instruments
Violin Concerto in E, BWV 1042
Orchestral Suite No.3 in D, BWV 1068