Brahms, Bruch and Smalley



Concert Cancelled: Brahms, Bruch and Smalley

Due to ongoing restrictions, we regret to advise that Brahms, Bruch and Smalley on Thursday 28 October has been cancelled.

Ticketholders are entitled to a full refund via their original point of purchase. If you have any questions or concerns about this concert cancellation, please contact our Ticketing Services team at

Event details

‘Omega Ensemble more than lives up to the hype.’ – Limelight Magazine

When Johannes Brahms wrote his two Sonatas for Clarinet and Piano in 1894, he published the works concurrently with an accompanying version for written viola. He, like many composers since, considered the two instruments to be interchangeable in their unique range and depth of expressiveness, and the two works remain as important foundational works for both instruments equally.

In this revealing program, the two Sonatas are presented side-by-side for both clarinet and viola with the late Australian composer Roger Smalley’s Trio, which uses fragments from Brahms’ Sonatas to construct a vibrant work that is, at once, full of Romantic gestures and contemporary complexity. The ever-popular Concerto for Clarinet and Viola by Max Bruch accompanies these works in a setting for trio, arranged by the composer.

COVID Safety

Melbourne Recital Centre is committed to the safety of our artists, staff and patrons. As we reopen, a range of public health, hygiene and physical distancing measures will be in place. Click here to learn more.


Johannes Brahms
Sonata for Clarinet and Piano in E-flat, Op.120, No.2

Roger Smalley
Trio for Clarinet, Viola and Piano

Johannes Brahms
Sonata for Viola and Piano in F minor, Op.120 No.1

Max Bruch – arr. for Viola, Clarinet and Piano
Concerto for Clarinet & Viola Op.88


David Rowden clarinet & Artistic Director
Neil Thompson viola
Clemens Leske piano


This production is part of the following series: