Cancelled: Caitlin Hulcup, Kristian Chong & Fiona Sargeant

Caitlin Hulcup

Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre


Concert Cancelled: Caitlin Hulcup, Kristian Chong & Fiona Sargeant

Due to international travel restrictions, we regret to advise that Caitlin Hulcup, Kristian Chong & Fiona Sargeant’s Great Performers concert has been cancelled.

Melbourne Recital Centre cares deeply about the health and safety of its audiences, artists and staff. We acknowledge that the suspension of normal operations in response to Coronavirus (COVID-19) is a difficult but essential action for the health of the Victorian public. We are committed to supporting our staff and artists during these difficult circumstances and we thank you, our music-loving community for your support and understanding during this time.

All ticketholders are entitled to a full refund via their original point of purchase. We are currently in the process of arranging refunds.

Event details

Acclaimed Australian mezzo soprano Caitlin Hulcup, revered pianist Kristian Chong, together with celebrated violist, Fiona Sargeant scale a thoughtfully curated program of compositions traversing poetic lyricism, Impressionism and the Romantic era. A meeting of unequivocal talent in the exquisite acoustics of Elisabeth Murdoch Hall.

There is no question that Caitlin Hulcup’s rich, velvety voice is the perfect vessel for the selected works composed by Brahms, Schubert, Loeffler and other key figures in poetic lyricism. Her resonant tones and depth of character create a sonic experience that is deeply moving. Paired with Kristian Chong’s gentle agility, dynamic range and affinity for collaboration and Fiona Sargeant’s meticulous playing style and rich experience this performance is set to be truly unmissable.

Thanks to Our Partners

Program Partner: The Langham Melbourne
Digital Series Partner: Melbourne Digital Concert Hall

COVID Safety

Melbourne Recital Centre is committed to the safety of our artists, staff and patrons. As we reopen, a range of public health, hygiene and physical distancing measures will be in place. Click here to learn more.


Franz Schubert
Ganymed, Op.19, No.3, D.544
Dass sie hier gewesen, Op.59, No.2, D.775
Gretchen am Spinnrade, Op.2, D.118

Hugo Wolf
Auf einer Wanderung
Anakreons Grab
Kennst du das Land

Johannes Brahms
2 Gesänge, Op.91

Henri Vieuxtemps
Capriccio, Op.55 ‘Hommage à Paganini’

Franz Liszt
Die Lorelei in G, S.273, S.273
Oh! quand je dors in E, S.282

Charles Martin Loeffler
4 Poèmes, Op.5


Caitlin Hulcup mezzo soprano
Fiona Sargeant viola
Kristian Chong piano