Composed by Her

Gintaute Gataveckaite

Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre & Gintaute Gataveckaite


Lithuanian-born pianist Gintaute Gataveckaite (Ghin-toe-té Gata-vetsky-té) is a versatile artist whose brilliant performances of diverse repertoire have taken her around the globe, where acclaim has followed at every turn.

About this concert

Gintaute Gataveckaite explores breathtaking piano works by three formidable contemporary female composers from Australia, America and her native Lithuania. The Australian premiere of Lera Auerbach’s powerful Suite for Piano, Op.41a, reveals a snapshot of Auerbach’s deeply personal music, through nine intensely contrasting preludes. Fantasia, another Australian premiere performance, is a compelling piece by distinguished Lithuanian composer Raminta Šerkšnytė, who was inspired by the poetic riches of Baltic mysticism. Her music expresses a striking range of emotions, from melancholy to meditative bliss. Gintaute also shares some of Elena Kats-Chernin’s most popular and beautiful compositions. All of these fascinating piano pieces, written by female composers who are pianists themselves, showcase a virtuosic understanding of the instrument’s capabilities, akin to Gintaute’s as a performer.

COVID Safety

Melbourne Recital Centre is committed to the safety of our artists, staff and patrons. As we reopen, a range of public health, hygiene and physical distancing measures will be in place. Click here to learn more.


Gintaute Gataveckaite piano


Raminta Šerkšnytė

Elena Kats-Chernin
Eliza Aria
Lullaby for Nick
Blue Tears
Dance of the Paper Umbrellas
Russian Toccata

Lera Auerbach
Suite for Piano, Op.41a
(nine preludes from 24 Preludes, Op.41)