Dvořák's Piano Quintet


Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre & Kristian Chong


‘Virtuosic brilliance.’ The Age

About Kristian Chong & Friends

Acclaimed by audiences and critics alike, Kristian Chong & Friends brings you impeccable recitals of the world’s great chamber music, performed by Australia’s most-admired artists. Joined by musicians at the top of their game, Kristian’s recitals are an opportunity to revel in the gifts of your favourite performers in an intimate chamber music setting.

About the concert

Kristian Chong and his talented friends from the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra are a force to be reckoned with on stage. The distinctive musical voices of Melbourne Symphony Orchestra’s co-concertmaster Sophie Rowell and principals Matthew Tomkins, Rachael Tobin and Christopher Moore will be on full display in Dvořák’s exciting, folk-inspired Piano Quintet No.2. Also hotly anticipated is the world premiere of renowned Melbourne composer Calvin Bowman’s Fantasia super ‘Christ ist erstanden’ for violin and piano, written specially for Kristian and Sophie.

COVID Safety

Melbourne Recital Centre is committed to the safety of our artists, staff and patrons. When we reopen, a range of public health, hygiene and physical distancing measures will be in place. Click here to learn more.


Sophie Rowell violin
Matthew Tomkins violin
Christopher Moore viola
Rachael Tobin cello
Kristian Chong piano


Calvin Bowman
Fantasia super ‘Christ ist erstanden’ for violin & piano

Antonín Dvořák
Piano Quintet No.2 in A, Op.81