In my Lady's Chamber

Seraphim Trio 2021.jpg

Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre & Seraphim Trio


‘One of Australia’s finest.’ ArtsHub

About Seraphim Trio

For more than two decades, Helen Ayres (violin), Tim Nankervis (cello) and Anna Goldsworthy (piano) have revitalised Australia’s love of the piano trio artform with their effortless virtuosity, sophisticated programs and brilliant ensemble playing. Just as the ensemble’s name implies, Seraphim Trio represents chamber music-making of the highest order.

About this concert

Over the last two decades, Helen Ayres, Anna Goldsworthy and Tim Nankervis have remained steadfastly committed to chamber music – from building the contemporary repertoire to developing new audiences and teaching the next generation of performers. Inspiring others through intelligent programming and deep knowledge and love of chamber music, Seraphim Trio never fails to delight audiences.

Three very different piano trios speak to the private versus public nature of chamber music. Haydn’s piano trio No. 42 was written at a time when both Haydn and Beethoven were propelling the accompanied piano sonata into the realm of the more virtuosic piano trio. Fanny Mendelssohn’s Piano Trio also constitutes an enormous challenge to the genre; it’s a piano concerto masquerading as a piano trio and reflects her thwarted ambitions to transcend the world of private music-making for a more public sphere. Seraphim Trio is delighted to perform the Australian premiere of Australian composer Elizabeth Younan’s Piano Trio. Composed as a single movement, it explores musical texture, constructing an organic structure from fragmented musical cells and mosaics.

COVID Safety

Melbourne Recital Centre is committed to the safety of our artists, staff and patrons. As we reopen, a range of public health, hygiene and physical distancing measures will be in place. Click here to learn more.


Seraphim Trio
Helen Ayres violin
Tim Nankervis cello
Anna Goldsworthy piano


Elizabeth Younan
Piano Trio

Fanny Mendelssohn
Piano Trio, Op.11

Joseph Haydn
Piano Trio in E-flat, Hob.XV:30


This production is part of the following series:

Southbank Series 2021

Melbourne Recital Centre’s Southbank Series brings talented artists from across Australia to Melbourne for audiences to enjoy in the best place to hear.