Music for Healing

ACO 2021.jpg

Presented by Australian Chamber Orchestra


A meditation on wellbeing

The meditative nature of music helps us repair and renew by heightening our awareness, invigorating our senses and revealing the truth of our feelings. That is at the heart of Pēteris Vasks’ Vox amoris which is a journey through love and the full range of human expression.

Just as Vox amoris explores the depth of human experience, this concert examines our emotions and the fragility of mental health. Drawing from the experience of two friends dealing with difficult personal periods, Iain Grandage’s Black Dogs confronts uncertainty and darkness, before building into an almost funk-like affirmation of survival. Black Dogs features guitarist Slava Grigoryan who will also perform Albéniz’s famous Asturias in a special arrangement for guitar and string orchestra, before Pink Floyd’s Shine On You Crazy Diamond returns us to the delicate balance between inner and outer health, and the trust in light emerging from darkness.

COVID Safety

Melbourne Recital Centre is committed to the safety of our artists, staff and patrons. When we reopen, a range of public health, hygiene and physical distancing measures will be in place. Click here to learn more.


Georg Friedrich Haas (arr. Tognetti)
String Quartet No.2, Op.7 ‘From the Monkey Mountains’: IV. A Wild Night

Morton Feldman
Rothko Chapel: 5th Movement

Pink Floyd (arr. Tognetti)
Shine On You Crazy Diamond

Isaac Albéniz (arr. guitar & strings)
Asturias (Leyenda)

Georg Friedrich Haas (arr. Tognetti)
String Quartet No.2, Op.7 “From the Monkey Mountains”: III. The Moon and I

Anna S. Þorvaldsdóttir

Iain Grandage
Black Dogs

Pēteris Vasks
Vox amoris


Richard Tognetti Director
Slava Grigoryan Guitar
Australian Chamber Orchestra


This production is part of the following series:

Australian Chamber Orchestra 2021

In 2021 the ACO are presenting an ambitious season with more music than ever before, with a radiant series of live performances alongside cinematic and immersive concert films.