Shostakovich & Harrison

KIAZMA Piano Duo

Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre & KIAZMA Piano Duo


‘A rare delight.’ The Age

About KIAZMA Piano Duo

KIAZMA Piano Duo highlights the brilliant musical synergy of pianists Aura Go and Tomoe Kawabata. Equally at home in two-piano and four-hand repertoire from the Baroque to the present day, KIAZMA exemplifies the intimacy, intricacy and dynamism that make the piano duo such a unique artform.

About this concert

Rhythm and energy abound in an early work by Shostakovich and a new piece by Holly Harrison. Composed in the shadow of his father’s death in 1922, Shostakovich’s Suite for two pianos, Op.6, is music of immense power and tragic intensity, written when the composer was just 15. Composer Holly Harrison is one of Australia’s rising stars. Her music embraces juxtaposing styles, blending the visceral energy of rock with whimsical humour. KIAZMA Piano Duo performs the world premiere of Harrison’s exciting new piece for piano four-hands, which the duo commissioned.

COVID Safety

Melbourne Recital Centre is committed to the safety of our artists, staff and patrons. As we reopen, a range of public health, hygiene and physical distancing measures will be in place. Click here to learn more.


KIAZMA Piano Duo
Tomoe Kawabata piano
Aura Go piano


Dmitri Shostakovich
Suite for two pianos, Op.6

Holly Harrison
new work

Dmitri Shostakovich
Concertino for two pianos, Op.94


This production is part of the following series:

Southbank Series 2021

Melbourne Recital Centre’s Southbank Series brings talented artists from across Australia to Melbourne for audiences to enjoy in the best place to hear.

Just Announced

Latest concert announcements from Melbourne Recital Centre.