Something Borrowed

Golden Gate Brass

Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre & Golden Gate Brass


Concert Cancelled: Golden Gate Brass

Due to ongoing restrictions, we regret to advise that Golden Gate Brass’ concert on Monday 20 September has been cancelled.

All ticketholders are entitled to a full refund via their original point of purchase. We are currently in the process of arranging refunds.

Event details

Golden Gate Brass brings a touch of brass to orchestral gems.

Golden Gate Brass brings a joy and energy to its playing that is nothing short of inspiring. Michael Olsen (trumpet), Fletcher Cox (trumpet), Aidan Gabriels (horn), Jackson Bankovic (trombone) and Jason Catchpowle (tuba) formed the band while studying at the Australian National Academy of Music (ANAM), and this meeting of young musical minds has proven to be a winning combination ever since.

About this concert

Golden Gate Brass transforms some of the world’s favourite 20th-century orchestral works for the dazzling sounds of brass quintet. Revel in familiar melodies that have enthralled audiences everywhere from Broadway to the silver screen, brought to life with the sizzling emotional vibrancy that makes brass sound so unique. From the top-tapping joys of Leonard Bernstein’s West Side Story and the passion of Samuel Barber’s Adagio for Strings to the hustle and bustle of George Gershwin’s An American in Paris, Golden Gate Brass’s delightful showcase brings the elan of brass centre stage.

The Spotlight Series is made possible thanks to the generous support of the Robert Salzer Foundation.

COVID Safety

Melbourne Recital Centre is committed to the safety of our artists, staff and patrons. As we reopen, a range of public health, hygiene and physical distancing measures will be in place. Click here to learn more.


Golden Gate Brass
Michael Olsen trumpet
Fletcher Cox trumpet
Aidan Gabriels horn
Jackson Bankovic trombone
Jason Catchpowle tuba


Leonard Bernstein – arr. J. Gale for brass ensemble
West Side Story Suite

Samuel Barber – arr. brass quintet
Adagio for Strings, Op.11

George Gershwin – arr. brass quintet
An American in Paris

Peter Warlock – arr. brass quintet
Capriol Suite


This production is part of the following series:


A uniquely intimate and virtuosic perspective on music.