University of Melbourne Symphony Orchestra


Presented by Melbourne Conservatorium of Music


Concert Cancelled: University of Melbourne Symphony Orchestra

Due to Melbourne’s ongoing lockdown, we regret to advise that the University of Melbourne Symphony Orchestra’s concert on Sunday 22 August has been cancelled.

Melbourne Recital Centre cares deeply about the health and safety of its audiences, artists and staff. We acknowledge that the suspension of normal operations in response to Coronavirus (COVID-19) is a difficult but essential action for the health of the Victorian public. We are committed to supporting our staff and artists during these difficult circumstances and we thank you, our music-loving community for your support and understanding during this time.

If you have any questions or concerns about this concert cancellation, please contact our Ticketing Services team at

Event details

The University of Melbourne Symphony Orchestra, led by world-renowned conductor Associate Professor Richard Davis and featuring our very best student classical musicians, is the premier orchestral ensemble at the University.

Opening this concert will be George Butterworth’s heart-warming ode: A Shropshire Lad; Rhapsody for Orchestra. Butterworth was just becoming well-known as a composer when he signed up to serve in the British Army, at the outset of World War 1 but was killed in action (aged 31) in Pozières, Somme, in 1916.

Before the interval, we will hear an equally popular concert piece, the Dvořák Cello Concerto. Written soon after the New World Symphony and even though Antonín Dvorák began writing the concerto whilst he was still living in New York, the melodic lines and rhythms of this concerto hark back to his birthplace rather than to America. For this performance, of the Dvořák Cello Concerto, the University of Melbourne Symphony Orchestra will be joined by Caleb Wong (winner of the 2020 MCM Concerto-Aria Competition).

The final piece in this concert will be Beethoven’s Symphony No 3, op.55 (Eroica). He famously ripped off the title page to the Bonaparte Symphony as soon as he heard that Napoleon had declared himself Emperor of the French. He then renamed it Eroica and from the opening explosive chords – like two hammer blows – the listener can tell that the piece will be full of drama and passion. The Eroica Symphony has since become one of the composer’s most celebrated and frequently performed works.

COVID Safety

Melbourne Recital Centre is committed to the safety of our artists, staff and patrons. When we reopen, a range of public health, hygiene and physical distancing measures will be in place. Click here to learn more.


George Butterworth
A Shropshire Lad Rhapsody for Orchestra

Antonín Dvořák
Cello Concerto op.104 in B minor – soloist: Caleb Wong

Ludwig van Beethoven
Symphony No 3, op.55 Eroica