Affinity Quartet – Through the Looking Glass

Affinity Quartet

Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre & Affinity Quartet


The next generation of Australia’s chamber music stars.

About the artists

Affinity Quartet represents the next generation of Australia’s chamber music stars, having developed its craft in Europe to critical acclaim. It brings home an inspired approach to music-making, matched by its adventurous spirit as a string quartet for and of today.

About the concert

‘I love the way some music suddenly takes you to the other side of Alice’s looking glass, in a kind of absurd, subtle, technicolour transition.’ These words by composer Caroline Shaw describe the inspiration for Entr’acte, Affinity Quartet’s opening composition. Following is Haydn String Quartet Op.76/4 ‘Sunrise’ and finishing with Hungarian composer Bartók String Quartet No.4.

An eclectic and exciting program that will captivate audiences from beginning to end.

Praise for Affinity Quartet

‘[Affinity Quartet] has a collective wisdom and maturity which is singularly impressive … a musical force with which to be reckoned.’ Richard Gill AO

COVID Safety

Melbourne Recital Centre is committed to the safety of our artists, staff and patrons. As we reopen, a range of public health, hygiene and physical distancing measures will be in place. Click here to learn more.


Josephine Chung violin 1
Nicholas Waters violin 2
Ruby Shirres viola
Mee Na Lojewski cello


Caroline Shaw

Joseph Haydn
String Quartet Op.76/4 ‘Sunrise’

Béla Bartók
String Quartet No.4


This production is part of the following series: