Arcadia Winds – Fantasie


Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre & Arcadia Winds


Where fantasy and invention meet unparalleled repertoire.

About Arcadia Winds

Arcadia Winds are trailblazers for Australian wind music, known for their energetic, spontaneous and joyful style. The ensemble celebrates the plethora of compositions that exist for wind quintet from classical repertoire and new works by Australian composers to inventive arrangements of music spanning the ancient to the popular.

About the concert

Their performance in Primrose Potter Salon explores fantasy and invention. Opening with Samuel Barber’s seminal Summer Music, a wonderfully imaginative tone poem evoking the lazy, indolent feeling of that season.

Followed by three short fantasies spanning three hundred years, the ensemble begins with Telemann’s Fantasia for solo flute in A minor, a baroque dance suite in perfect microcosm. Oliver Knussen’s Three Little Fantasies is a set of quirky miniatures creating a whirlwind of sounds fit for the wind quintet. Followed by the World Premiere of Holly Harrison’s Fantasy No. 8 for solo bassoon, a tour de force written for Arcadia Winds own Matthew Kneale.

The program concludes with a spectacular arrangement of Mozart’s Variations on Ah vous dirais-je maman, which takes the familiar and reimagines it with his unrelenting genius.

Praise for Arcadia Winds

‘The exacting individual skills and telepathic understanding between the five musicians created a breathtaking performance.’ Cut Common

COVID Safety

Melbourne Recital Centre is committed to the safety of our artists, staff and patrons. As we reopen, a range of public health, hygiene and physical distancing measures will be in place. Click here to learn more.


Kiran Phatak flute
David Reichelt oboe
Lloyd Van’t Hoff clarinet
Rachel Shaw horn
Matthew Kneale bassoon


Samuel Barber
Summer Music for Quintet

Georg Philipp Telemann
12 Fantasias for Flute without Bass, TWV 40:2-13

Oliver Knussen
Three Little Fantasies

Elizabeth Younan
Fantasia No.8 for solo bassoon

Arvo Pärt

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
12 Variations in C on ‘Ah, vous dirai-je maman’, K.265


This production is part of the following series: