Asha Trio – Beyond

Asha Trio Liam Davidson.jpeg

Presented by Georgina Lewis


An immersive soundscape navigating the past and the future with genre-bending dexterity.

About Asha Trio

Asha Trio is comprised of three leading Victorian musicians bought together by their mutual passion for collaboration, storytelling and chamber music.

The trio are committed to championing repertoire of the past, as well as paving the way for a library of new works by emerging artists. Their unusual combination of saxophone, violin and piano provide an exploratory insight into a dynamic sonic landscape.

About the concert

Commissioned in 1938 by the ‘king of swing’ Benny Goodman, Béla Bartók’s Contrasts is a whirlwind ride through his signature shifting harmonies, the alternating rhythms of Hungarian folk dance and the wild spontaneity of ‘hot music’ of the dance halls in the US.

Asha Trio premieres three compositions, created in response to Bartók’s masterpiece by three of Melbourne’s most idiosyncratic and contrasting composers: Lee Bradshaw, Caerwen Martin and Johannes Luebbers.

The new works are interwoven amongst the three movements of Contrasts – Verbunkos, Pihenö and Sebes. Closing with a work by Tasmanian composer and saxophonist, Jabra Latham titled Beyond, this performance presents an immersive soundscape navigating the past and the future with genre-bending dexterity.

COVID Safety

Melbourne Recital Centre is committed to the safety of our artists, staff and patrons. As we reopen, a range of public health, hygiene and physical distancing measures will be in place. Click here to learn more.


Kyla Matsuura-Miller violin
Niels Bijl saxophone
Georgina Lewis piano


Béla Bartók
i. Verbunkos
ii. Pihenő
iii. Sebes

Caerwen Martin
New work

Lee Bradshaw
New work

Johannes Luebbers
New work

Jabra Latham


This production is part of the following series: