ASQ in Concert: Britten Paterson Beethoven


Presented by Australian String Quartet


‘The Paterson was a revelation…’ Limelight Magazine

A musically rich, sonically colourful, and technically demanding program that spans music across three centuries showcases the versatility and technical mastery of the Australian String Quartet in their 2022 Melbourne Recital Centre debut.

About the concert

Britten’s Three Divertimenti for String Quartet opens this concert with a flourish of colour. At times reflective and at times brooding, this sharp, brilliant set of three short character pieces showcases a breadth of musical tone and texture from the Quartet.

Following the Britten will be the world premiere of a new work commissioned by the ASQ from Australian composer David Paterson. This is Paterson’s third commission for the ensemble, having also produced two other works, Quartettsätze and Scherzo, in 2016 and 2020 respectively.

Finishing this program is Beethoven’s third and final Razumovsky quartet, fondly nicknamed the Eroica (Heroic). Considered by many as one of Beethoven’s most radiant compositions, its bustling and triumphant final movement is what has earned it its nickname. As this concert began, so too shall it finish with a display of technical mastery from the ASQ in this playfully interweaving and uplifting finale.

COVID Safety

Melbourne Recital Centre is committed to the safety of our artists, staff and patrons. As we reopen, a range of public health, hygiene and physical distancing measures will be in place. Click here to learn more.


Australian String Quartet
Dale Barltrop violin
Francesca Hiew violin
Christopher Cartlidge viola
Michael Dahlenburg cello


Benjamin Britten
Three Divertimenti

David Paterson
String Quartet No.1 (Melbourne premiere)*

Ludwig van Beethoven
String Quartet in C, Op.59 No.3, ‘Razumovsky’

*commissioned by the Australian String Quartet with the generous support of Michael Rowe and Bernard Ryan in celebration of the birthday of Patricia Davidson


This production is part of the following series: