Mostly Mozart – Augmented Mozart & Fiery Boccherini

Mostly Mozart

Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre & Australian National Academy of Music


Augmented Mozart and fiery Boccherini.

About the artists

Principal cello of the Australian Chamber Orchestra (ACO) Timo-Veikko Valve is one of the most versatile musicians of his generation, performing as a soloist, chamber musician and orchestral leader on both modern and period instruments. The Australian National Academy of Music (ANAM) is dedicated to training exceptional young musicians, creating alumni that work around the world.

About the concert

Timo-Veikko Valve performs with and directs musicians from the Australian National Academy of Music (ANAM) in a program of augmented Mozart and fiery Boccherini as part of our Mostly Mozart series.

Beginning with Mozart’s String Quartet No.15, the piece elucidates the chromatic tendencies and hidden beauties that his compositions have endured. Finishing with what is undoubtedly Boccherini’s best-known composition, Symphony No.4 in D minor is a piece of charm and refinement. A performance of epic proportion, the sheer scale of musicality will stun and delight.

‘I’ve always imagined that the drama and passion of Mozart’s string quartet K421 would benefit from a larger format. The music is incredibly operatic – it almost demands more than four characters to play it out. I can’t wait to reveal this new arrangement for a large ensemble in our Mostly Mozart concert in the beautiful Elisabeth Murdoch Hall!’ Timo-Veikko Valve

COVID Safety

Melbourne Recital Centre is committed to the safety of our artists, staff and patrons. When we reopen, a range of public health, hygiene and physical distancing measures will be in place. Click here to learn more.


Australian National Academy Of Music Ensemble (ANAM)
Timo-Veikko Valve cello, director


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
String Quartet in D minor, K.421 – arr. for strings Valve

Luigi Boccherini
Symphony in D minor, Op.12 No.4 (G. 506) ‘La Casa Del Diavolo’


This production is part of the following series: