Australian Art Orchestra: Fresh Water – Salt Water


Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre in arrangement with Australian Art Orchestra & Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival


A cross-continental collision of culture and creativity.

Led by courageous composer/trumpeter/sound artist Peter Knight, Australian Art Orchestra (AAO) is one of the country’s pioneering contemporary ensembles dedicated to the dismantling of barriers between disciplines, forms and cultures.

In this performance AAO joins forces with Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival to take global audiences on a journey into a new sonic realm.

Fresh Water – Salt Water sees Yolngu traditional songmen from Arnhem Land David and Daniel Wilfred alongside an ensemble of leading Australian musicians perform in creative collaboration with British composer/performers Mandhira de Saram and Cath Roberts to premiere four new works brimming with boldness and optimism.

Founded by Paul Grabowsky AO in 1994 Australian Art Orchestra is a vital part of the fabric of contemporary Australian music, exploring the intersections between avant-garde and traditional, art and popular music, electronic and acoustic approaches, traversing the continuum between improvised and notated forms with vision, passion and dexterity.

Praise for AAO

‘Thrilling and daunting in equal measure. . . the AAO’s boldness of vision remains intact as it heads into its third decade.’ The Age

‘Both evenings contained stirring otherworldly combinations: David Wilfred’s grainy, sonorous vocal chant was at its most penetrating alongside his digeridoo-playing brother David, and Kim’s electronically-looped phase-shifting choir-like wall of sound.’ Jazzwise

COVID Safety

Melbourne Recital Centre is committed to the safety of our artists, staff and patrons. As we reopen, a range of public health, hygiene and physical distancing measures will be in place. Click here to learn more.


Australian Art Orchestra

Mandhira De Saram violin
Cath Roberts saxophone
Daniel Wilfred voice and clapping sticks
David Wilfred didgeridoo
Helen Svoboda double bass and voice
Peter Knight trumpet and electronics
Martin Ng turntables
Aviva Endean clarinets and harmonic flute


This production is part of the following series: