Klara Quartet – Notturno


Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre & Andrea Katz


Piano quartet masterpieces of the 19th century.

Newly formed Klara Quartet combines the artistry and commanding presence of Rachael Beesley, Simon Oswell, Luke Severn and Andrea Katz. The in-demand chamber music ensemble explores classical, romantic and modern masterpieces of the 19th and 20th century of rarely performed piano quartets.

About the concert

Their performance in Primrose Potter Salon presents a stunning program of well-loved masterpieces. Beginning with Schubert’s dreamy Notturno, a work of pervasive, gentle serenity with subtle shifts of texture and colour. Finishing with Brahms’ passionate Quartet No. 3, a work of dramatic contrasts, rich lyricism and romantic sweeps.

A dynamic evening of music with four of Australia’s best performers.

COVID Safety

Melbourne Recital Centre is committed to the safety of our artists, staff and patrons. As we reopen, a range of public health, hygiene and physical distancing measures will be in place. Click here to learn more.


Rachael Beesley violin
Simon Oswell viola
Luke Severn cello
Andrea Katz piano


Franz Schubert
‘Notturno’ Piano Trio in E-flat, D.897

Johannes Brahms
String Quartet No.3, Op.67


This production is part of the following series: