Mostly Mozart – Conflicted Passions


Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre & ANAM


A performance of commanding exuberance, grace and sensitivity.

About the artists

Erin Helyard has been acclaimed as an inspiring conductor, a virtuosic and expressive performer of the harpsichord and fortepiano, and as a lucid scholar who is passionate about promoting discourse between musicology and performance. The Australian National Academy of Music (ANAM) is dedicated the artistic and professional development of the most exceptional young classical musicians from Australia and New Zealand.

Erin Helyard performs with and directs musicians from the Australian National Academy of Music (ANAM) in a program of Mozart, Rosetti and Kraus as part of our Mostly Mozart series.

In a program of contrasts, their performance will open and close with two of Mozart’s most joyous, rarely performed dance words, juxtaposed against two dark, rich and turbulent masterpieces by Rosetti and Kraus, in their Australian premieres.

About the concert

Beginning with Mozart’s Les petits riens, a lively creation brimming with energy and colour throughout. Followed by Rosetti’s Symphony in G minor, a spirited work that permeates joy and Kraus’ dramatic and lyrical Symphony in C minor.

Finishing as it started with Mozart, Idomeneo is based on material from ancient antiquity, telling the story of the Kind of Crete. A performance of commanding exuberance, their grace and sensitivity will take listeners on a special journey.

Praise for Erin Helyard

‘Australia’s most engaging soloist.’ Limelight Magazine

COVID Safety

Melbourne Recital Centre is committed to the safety of our artists, staff and patrons. As we reopen, a range of public health, hygiene and physical distancing measures will be in place. Click here to learn more.


Musicians from Australian National Academy of Music (ANAM)
Erin Helyard harpsichord, director


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Les petits riens, K.Anh.10/299b

Antonio Rosetti
Symphony in G minor Kaul I:27

Joseph Martin Kraus
Symphony in C minor, VB 142

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Idomeneo, ballet music, K.367


This production is part of the following series: