Mostly Mozart – WAM!!


Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre & ANAM


David Elton leads a celebration of brass.

About the artists

Principal trumpet of the Sydney Symphony Orchestra David Elton is a musician of soaring eclecticism and stunning refinement. The Australian National Academy of Music (ANAM) is dedicated the artistic and professional development of the most exceptional young classical musicians from Australia and New Zealand.

David Elton performs with and directs musicians from the Australian National Academy of Music (ANAM) in an exciting program featuring the world premiere of Peter Adcock’s ANAM-commissioned WAM!!

About the concert

Originally written for horn in the mid-18th century and deemed a monumental challenge for even the greatest player, Neruda’s Concerto for Trumpet and Strings has since been reworked to apply modern trumpet performance practices while still preserving the beauty of the original notation.

Following this, two of Mozart’s most celebrated brass works round out the program. Finishing with the world premiere of Peter Adcock’s WAM!! ANAM Trumpet faculty David Elton leads a celebration of brass. A performance of exceptional artistry not to be missed.

‘Word has it that a young Mozart wasn’t such a fan of the natural trumpet of his time, and he “scarcely heard the blaring sound when he grew pale and began to collapse.” Luckily, however, it seems he loved the horn, writing four concerti – one of which features in this program’ David Elton

COVID Safety

Melbourne Recital Centre is committed to the safety of our artists, staff and patrons. As we reopen, a range of public health, hygiene and physical distancing measures will be in place. Click here to learn more.


Musicians from the Australian National Academy of Music (ANAM)
David Elton trumpet director, ANAM faculty


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Arrangement for Brass Ensemble arr. P. Adcock

Johann Baptist Georg Neruda
Concerto for Trumpet & Strings in E-flat

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Horn Concerto No.2 in E flat, K.417
Serenade No.9 in D, K.320 ‘Posthorn’

Peter Adcock


This production is part of the following series: