Signum Saxophone Quartet & Kristian Winther

Signum and Winther

Presented by Musica Viva


Presented by Musica Viva Australia, Europe’s favourite saxophone quartet make their Australian debut, joining violinist Kristian Winther for a ripper program including a brand-new arrangement of Kurt Weill’s daredevil violin concerto.

About the concert

Musica Viva Australia is thrilled to present the internationally acclaimed Signum Saxophone Quartet in their debut national tour!

Having achieved cult status on instruments still rarely found in the concert hall, the group have become renowned for championing composers living and lost, while filling the world’s best venues.

In this ripper program, the Signums will be joined by Australian violinist Kristian Winther to premiere Jessica Wells’ new arrangement of Kurt Weill’s Violin Concerto: a daredevil work for the soloist, and showing off the myriad colours of the saxophones.

With a meeting of top creative talents in a program spanning Bach to Gershwin, these concerts are like the best kind of fireworks – surprising, absorbing, and extraordinary.

Praise for Signum Saxophone Quartet

‘Musical logic and voice leading dictate who looks at whom and who steps forward when – seemingly without the [Signum] artists having to think about it. They’re like a single large organism.’ Hamburger Abendblatt

‘Winther shines in this piece, displaying a highly expressive tonal range.’ The Guardian

Musica Viva is a Key Presenting Partner at Melbourne Recital Centre. For more information on the Centre’s Key Presenting Partners see here

COVID Safety

Melbourne Recital Centre is committed to the safety of our artists, staff and patrons. As we reopen, a range of public health, hygiene and physical distancing measures will be in place. Click here to learn more.


Blaž Kemperle soprano, saxophone
Hayrapet Arakelyan alto, saxophone
Alan Lužar tenor, saxophone
Guerino Bellarosa baritone, saxophone

Kristian Winther violin


Johann Sebastian Bach
Italian Concerto, Bwv 971 (1735) – Transcr. Tochio

Kurt Weill
Violin Concerto, Op.12 (1924) – arr. Wells *

George Gershwin
Three Preludes (1926) – arr. Signum Saxophone Quartet

Leonard Bernstein
Symphonic Dances From West Side Story (1960) – arr. Dedenon

Michel Camilo
Caribe (1988) – arr. Leitinger

*Arrangement commissioned for Musica Viva Australia under the auspices of the Hildegard Project.


This production is part of the following series: