Omega Ensemble – Melodies and Melodrama

Omega Ensemble

Presented by Omega Ensemble


‘a smorgasbord of chamber music played by first-rate musicians.’ Daily Telegraph

About the concert

The mighty music of Brahms was a great influence on the lesser known Hungarian composer Ernö Dohnányi. While Brahms’ brooding Piano Quartet No.1 (notably premiered by Clara Schumanm) may at first appear restrained compared to the decadence of Dohnányi’s colossal Sextet, the soaring melodies and sumptuous texture in both works are imbued with equal romantic passion and unabashed melodrama.

The finale of Omega Ensemble’s 2022 Season is marked by a new commission from French composer Laurent Lefrançois, whose works are equally marked by colourful twists and turns. With Dohnanyi’s Sextet featuring some of the most glorious melodic writing for French Horn, the Ensemble is joined for this performance by Nicolas Fleury, Principal Horn of the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra.

COVID Safety

Melbourne Recital Centre is committed to the safety of our artists, staff and patrons. When we reopen, a range of public health, hygiene and physical distancing measures will be in place. Click here to learn more.


Nicholas Fleury horn
Omega Ensemble


Johannes Brahms
Piano Quartet No.1 in G minor, Op.25

Laurent Lefrançois
New CommissionWorld Premiere

Ernö Dohnányi
Sextet in C major, Op.37


This production is part of the following series: