Quartz – Dvorak's America Quintet


Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre & Quartz


A performance sure to delight both first time and seasoned listeners.

About the artists

Acclaimed Melbourne string quartet Quartz are a confluence of Australian musical talent and outstanding technique, performing sensitive interpretations of great masterpieces that are both innovative and unique.

About the concert

Beginning with Dvořák’s America, a work of great beauty that is rarely performed. The added depth and sonority of a second viola will undoubtedly heighten the performance of this piece, adding a unique richness.

Quartz carries through to Mendelssohn’s Four Pieces for String Quartet, a collection of individual movements written throughout his life, each showcasing compositional mastery and lightness of touch. The four movements have contrasting moods and evocations yet tie together seamlessly into a work revealing Mendelssohn’s premier qualities: passion, tenderness and civilised wit.

A performance sure to delight both first time and seasoned listeners.

Praise for Quartz

‘Impressive.’ Classic Melbourne

COVID Safety

Melbourne Recital Centre is committed to the safety of our artists, staff and patrons. When we reopen, a range of public health, hygiene and physical distancing measures will be in place. Click here to learn more.


Kathryn Taylor violin
Philippa West violin
Merewyn Bramble viola
Zoe Wallace cello
Katie Yap viola *guest artist


Felix Mendelssohn
Four Pieces for String Quartet, Op.81 & Movement 2 & 3

Antonín Dvořák
String Quintet No.3 in E-flat


This production is part of the following series: