Presented by ELISION ensemble


Rare compelling sonic visions.

ELISION has established an international reputation as Australia’s premier new music ensemble. They have performed at venues such as the Hebbel Theater Berlin, the Berlin Philharmonie, Saitama Arts Theatre Tokyo, Pompidou Centre, Sydney Opera House, Queensland Art Gallery, and Vienna Konzerthaus; and at festivals such as Wien Modern, Maerzmusik, Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival, Festival Ars Musica of Brussels, Züricher TheaterSpektakel, the 50th Warsaw Autumn Festival, Ultima Oslo, TRANSIT Festival Leuven, Spitalfields London, the Chekov International Theatre Festival of Moscow, BIFEM, the Shanghai New Music Week, and Festival d’Automne à Paris.

About the concert

The ensemble presents new work composed for the ensemble by Cat Hope, Mary Bellamy, Charlie Sdraulig, Jakob Bragg and Richard Barrett- a rare mix of prodigious virtuosity combined with deep consideration of the nature and physicality of sound. The concert consists almost entirely of world premieres bringing together unique and compelling compositional visions.

Praise for ELISION

ELISION’s prodigious virtuosity pushes beyond itself to what lies on the other side: queer, strange, insatiable vitality.’ Liam Cagney GRAMOPHONE

COVID Safety

Melbourne Recital Centre is committed to the safety of our artists, staff and patrons. As we reopen, a range of public health, hygiene and physical distancing measures will be in place. Click here to learn more.


Paula Rae flutes
Eliza Shephard flutes
Joshua Hyde saxophone
Tristram Williams trumpets
Benjamin Marks trombone
Ryan Williams recorders
Matthew Horsley Uilleann pipes
Marshall McGuire harp
Alex Waite piano
Daryl Buckley lapsteel
Peter Neville percussion
Aditya Bhat percussion
Madeleine Jevons violin
Freya Schack-Arnott violoncello
Rohan Dasika contrabass


Richard Barrett
Rifts (2022)

Cat Hope
the long now II

Richard Barrett
all night invisibility flickers on & off visibly (natural causes VI) – duo 2 (2021-22)

Jakob Bragg
New work

Mary Bellamy
Rift (2020)

Charlie Sdraulig
Ground (2018-19)

Richard Barrett
after (2022)