PGYO – Scandinavian Holiday

Scandinavian Holiday Image.png

Presented by Percy Grainger Youth Orchestra


Finishing the series under the shimmering Borealis lights.

Evoking images of a serene landscape under the shimmering Borealis lights, Scandinavian Holiday sees the Percy Grainger Youth Orchestra finish their concert series among the works of Grieg and Sibelius. Selections from Grieg’s Peer Gynt Suite dance around sections of Sibelius’ Violin Concerto and Symphony No.2 in a combination of favourites and favourites soon-to-be.

COVID Safety

Melbourne Recital Centre is committed to the safety of our artists, staff and patrons. As we reopen, a range of public health, hygiene and physical distancing measures will be in place. Click here to learn more.


Percy Grainger Youth Orchestra
Mark Shiell conductor
Louise Turnbull violin soloist


Edvard Grieg
‘Morning’ from Peer Gynt Suite
‘In the Hall of the Mountain King’ from Peer Gynt Suite

Jean Sibelius
Violin Concerto (Movement 1)
Symphony No.2 (Movement 4)


This production is part of the following series: