The University of Melbourne Symphony Orchestra Concert: Rachmaninoff’s 150th

The University of Melbourne Symphony Orchestra 1

Presented by Melbourne Conservatorium of Music


The University of Melbourne Symphony Orchestra Concert: Rachmaninoff’s 150th.

The first University of Melbourne Symphony Orchestra concert of 2023 celebrates 150 years to the day that Sergei Rachmaninoff was born. What better way to commemorate this prolific composer/pianist/conductor’s birthday than by performing his glorious second symphony in E minor – a work that remains one of his most popular and deeply moving works. Lasting exactly an hour, you’ll be swept up in this brooding and highly emotional work.

Before the interval, guitarist Nathan Sinclair (joint winner of the 2021 Melbourne Conservatorium of Music Concerto-Aria prize) will play Rodrigo’s Concierto de Aranjuez. Written in 1939, Rodrigo stated that the piece describes ‘the fragrance of magnolias, the singing of birds and the gushing of fountains’ in the gardens of Aranjuez.

Opening with Rimsky-Korsakov’s dazzling Capriccio Espagnol, a short piece featuring a cascade of cadenzas and ending with a frenzied fandango.

COVID Safety

Melbourne Recital Centre is committed to the safety of our artists, staff and patrons. A range of public health, hygiene and physical distancing measures are currently in place. Click here to learn more.


Richard Davis conductor
Nathan Sinclair guitar soloist


Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov
Capriccio Espagnol, Op.34
I. Alborada
II. Variazioni
III. Alborada
IV. Scena e canto e gitano
V. Fandango Asturiano

Joaquín Rodrigo perf. by Nathan Sinclair
Concierto de Aranjuez, for Guitar and Orchestra

Sergei Rachmaninoff
Symphony No.2 in E minor, Op.27
I. Largo – Allegro moderato
II. Allegro molto
III. Adagio
IV. Allegro vivace