Sonya Lifschitz & Christine Johnston – A Little Midnight Music

Sonya Lifschitz & Christine Johnston

Presented by Melbourne Recital Centre


A thrilling collision of classical music, performance art, and comedy.

Renowned for their exceptional artistry, virtuoso pianist Sonya Lifschitz and performance artist Christine Johnston (Madame Lark) form one of Australia’s most dynamic powerhouse duos. In this audacious performance, the pair’s consummate musicianship and imagination are on full display as the worlds of classical music, performance art, and comedy collide.

Part cabaret, part recital, this delightfully surreal concert places two of legendary composer George Crumb’s most beloved piano cycles, A Little Suite for Christmas, A.D.1979 and Eine Kleine Mitternachtmusik (A Little Midnight Music), amidst the sounds of the Antipodes. As Sonya conjures up mythical, primordial, and ancient sounds from inside her piano, Christine takes to her musical saw, inimitable vocals, and overhead projector. Together, they bring George Crumb’s masterworks for piano to life in an intriguingly whimsical and unexpected way.

Praise for the artists

‘4.5 stars: One of the particular highlights was a brilliant performance by Sonya Lifschitz of George Crumb’s 1972 piano cycle Makrokosmos, Volume 1, in tandem with wildly funny classroom lessons from Christine Johnston…’ – Limelight

‘Johnston is a vocal wizard whose broad sonic repertoire from whistles to birdcalls extended the more traditional musical saw sonorities into much deeper realms. Who needs electronics when these sounds are available through human vocal and instrumental skills?’ – The Advertiser

Caring for Our Community

Melbourne Recital Centre is committed to the safety of our artists, staff and patrons. A range of public health, hygiene and physical distancing measures are currently in place. Click here to learn more.


Sonya Lifschitz piano
Christine Johnston (Madame Lark) vocals, musical saw, narration, projections


George Crumb
A Little Suite for Christmas
A Little Midnight Music


This production is part of the following series: