ASQ – Vanguard

Australian String Quartet

Presented by Australian String Quartet


‘…a near-perfect concert…’ ★★★★½ — Limelight

A powerful program of music that radically extends the boundaries of the string quartet.

Beethoven’s String Quartet in E-flat, Op.127, is the first of what are known as his late quartets. When premiered in 1825, it struck listeners with its innovation of expression and musical themes which transcended its time, making it a revolutionary work in the history of the string quartet. Its exploration of human emotions and musical ideas continues to resonate with audiences across generations, solidifying its relevance to this day.

For his second commission from the Australian String Quartet, composer Harry Sdraulig will produce his first full-length work, having previously composed a shorter work, Swirl, for the ensemble in 2020. Expect rich lyricism and harmony, and intricate, driving rhythms.

Moravian-born American composer Erich Wolfgang Korngold’s String Quartet No.2 in E-flat, written in 1933, showcases his mastery of Romanticism. Combining lush harmonies with intricate interweaving of musical voices, this quartet reveals his versatility as a composer beyond his acclaimed works for the screen. Traversing a rich tapestry of feelings, spanning longing to exuberance, it demonstrates Korngold’s position as one of the great post-Romantics.

Caring for Our Community

Melbourne Recital Centre is committed to the safety of our artists, staff and patrons. A range of public health, hygiene and physical distancing measures are currently in place. Click here to learn more.


Australian String Quartet
Dale Barltrop violin
Francesca Hiew violin
Christopher Cartlidge viola
Michael Dahlenburg cello


Ludwig Van Beethoven
String Quartet in E-flat, Op.127

Harry Sdraulig
New Work

Erich Wolfgang Korngold
String Quartet No.2 in E-flat


This production is part of the following series: