Finalists Announced for the 2014 Bach Competition

10 skilled young musicians compete in the 2014 Bach Competition.

Johann Sebastian Bach is heralded as an outstanding composer, organist, harpsichordist and technician.

Celebrated for composing the Brandenburg Concertos, Toccata and Fugue in D minor, The Well-Tempered Clavier and Mass in B Minor amongst other revered masterpieces and secular works, Bach’s compositions showcase the synthesis and development of the primary contrapuntal idiom of the late-Baroque, as well as numerical symbolism and pioneering polyphonic style.

Largely self-taught, Bach’s virtuosity influenced a number of renowned composers, including Beethoven, Mendelssohn, Chopin, Mozart and Shostakovich, and his legacy of structural grace and musical craftsmanship extends far beyond Baroque tradition.

Now in its fifth year, Melbourne Recital Centre’s Bach Competition is dedicated to young musicians passionate about the music of J.S. Bach. This year the competition is adjudicated by Dr. Richard Mills AM, Lin Bender AM, skilled Australian oboist Ben Opie and respected Australian pianists Caroline Almonte (Sutherland Trio) and Leigh Harold (Syzygy Ensemble).

The 2014 Bach Competition finalists are:

  • Isabella Delaney (recorder)
  • Tian Tian Lan (piano)
  • Tristan Buesst (cello)
  • Andy Huang (guitar)
  • Josef Hanna (violin)
  • Abigail Xu (oboe)
  • Rupert Buesst (violin)
  • Hannah Shin (piano)
  • Charlotte Miles (cello)
  • Miles Johnston (guitar)

Join us this Sunday 15 June!

This Sunday 15 June the finalists perform passionate, complex, melodious and thematic works by J.S. Bach, also known as ‘The Master’ and vie for a $2000 cash prize, generously donated by Dr. Richard Mills AM and two $1000 Encouragement Awards, kindly donated anonymously.

The concert, held in Elisabeth Murdoch Hall, is free to attend, however tickets are required. For more information on how to reserve your seat click here.

“The aim and final end of all music should be none other than the glory of God and the refreshment of the soul” – J.S. Bach (1685–1750)