Chief Executive Women members elect Kathryn Fagg as President

Melbourne Recital Centre Chair Kathryn Fagg has been elected President of the Chief Executive Women (CEW)

Diane Smith-Gander, President of CEW announced on 20 October the election of long standing CEW member Kathryn Fagg to the role of President effective from 24 November 2016.

In accordance with the Chief Executive Women Limited constitution, CEW Presidents are elected by the members for a two-year term. Diane Smith Gander was elected as President in November 2014 and will complete her 2 year term on 24 November 2016.

Kathryn Fagg will be CEW’s sixteenth President, following a distinguished group of Australian leaders: Barbara Cail AO, Imelda Roche AO, Ita Buttrose AO, OBE, Wendy McCarthy AO, Helen Lynch AM, Sandra Yates AO, Annabelle Bennett AO, Karen Wilson, Diane Grady AM, Jillian Broadbent AO, Catherine Livingstone AO, Naseema Sparks AO, Belinda Hutchinson AM, Christine Christian, and Diane Smith-Gander.

About Kathryn

Kathryn Fagg is an experienced chairman and board member having worked in senior executive roles across a range of industries, from resources, to manufacturing and logistics, as well as banking and professional services, in Australia, New Zealand and Asia.

Kathryn has been a member of the board of the Reserve Bank of Australia since 2013. She is also on the boards of ASX-listed companies Boral, Djerriwarrh Investments and Incitec Pivot. Kathryn is Chairman of the Melbourne Recital Centre as well as Breast Cancer Network Australia (BCNA). She previously served as Chairman of Parks Victoria.

Kathryn is a board member for the Australian Centre for Innovation and is a Fellow of the Academy of Technology and Engineering where she chairs the Industry and Innovation Forum.

Kathryn commenced her professional career as a petroleum engineer with Esso Australia (now Exxon Mobil), after completing her chemical engineering degree at the University of Queensland. As a petroleum engineer, her work was focused on maximising oil and gas production from the fields in Bass Strait.

From Esso, Kathryn moved into management consulting with McKinsey & Co working on engagements in strategy and change management. She then joined the ANZ Banking Group. Her roles at the bank included General Manager, Retail Banking, in New Zealand, and Managing Director, Banking Products for the Group.

Following ANZ, Kathryn returned to her industrial roots and joined BHP Steel which became BlueScope Steel. Senior executive roles with BlueScope included President, Australian Building and Logistics Solutions and President Asia, based in Singapore, where she had responsibility for BlueScope’s operations across the Asia region, including as Chairman of Tata BlueScope Steel in India.

From BlueScope, Kathryn was at Linfox for three years as President FMCG (Fast Moving Consumer Goods), where she was responsible for providing logistics services to 9 of the world’s ten largest FMCG companies in Australia, New Zealand and Asia. Subsequently, she has pursued a career as a Non-Executive Director.

As well as her engineering degree, Kathryn holds a Master of Commerce in Organisation Behaviour from the University of New South Wales which has also awarded her an honorary Doctor of Business.

She was a recipient of the University of Queensland’s Inaugural Vice-Chancellor’s Alumni Excellence Award in 2013. Kathryn and her husband live in Melbourne and their son is studying at the University of Melbourne.

The team at Melbourne Recital Centre congratulate Kathryn on her appointment as President of CEW.