ASQ – Florescence

ASQ 2023.png

Presented by The Australian String Quartet


A celebration of the string quartet across continents and contexts.

A dramatic proclamation sets the scene as Australian composer Justin Williams’ Movement for String Quartet begins this concert with an exploration of distinct and juxtaposing musical material. From twenty-first century Australia we travel to eighteenth century Austria, where Joseph Haydn’s String Quartet No.1 in B minor thrills with an impulsiveness that makes for a virtuosic and exuberant experience.

Henry Purcell’s Fantasia No.6 showcases this Baroque composer’s mastery of suspension and release in a meditative ‘fancy’ before we are whisked into the program’s celebratory finale. Antonin Dvořák’s melodically rich and festive String Quartet No.14 — the composer’s final instrumental chamber work—brims with inventive interplay and influences from the composer’s experiences abroad and connection to his Bohemian homeland’s folk traditions.

Caring for Our Community

Melbourne Recital Centre is committed to the safety of our artists, staff and patrons. A range of public health, hygiene and physical distancing measures are currently in place. Click here to learn more.


Australian String Quartet
Dale Barltrop violin
Francesca Hiew violin
Christopher Cartlidge viola
Michael Dahlenburg cello


Justin Williams
Movement for String Quartet

Joseph Haydn
String Quartet in B minor, Op.33 No.1

Henry Purcell
Fantasia No.6 in F, Z.737

Antonín Dvořak
String Quartet No.14 in A-flat, Op.105